YA contemporaries · YA series · Young Adult

Gus by Kim Holden

Synopsis

The journey that began in top-rated, best-selling Bright Side, continues …

This is the story of Gus.
Losing himself.
Finding himself.
And healing along the way.

“ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half … the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”


Photo by Angel Natalie

Review


Photo by Angel Natalie

To say that this book is wonderful is the understatement of the year (or my whole life).

The story of Kate on Bright Side broke my heart and shattered it on the best way possible. So many emotions have come and gone but the pain made me feel alive. I didn’t expect that the simple orange book can swallow my soul. It attracted me from the first word to the last.

Now, Gus put back the pieces of my heart. He’s the true meaning of “best friend”. His love for Kate is undoubtedly the most inspiring and heartbreaking of all. At the end of Bright Side, I know that Author Kim Holden will never left Gus behind, so I’m not surprised when she did her magic again.

The journey of Gus made me reflect with my life. The grief, the pain, the anger… I felt it all, but mostly, his love and affection not just for Kate but also for his friends and family.

I hate cancer in any kind. Yesterday I’ve lost my grandma with ovarian cancer. It hurts but I know I’m gonna take Mrs. Randolph’s advice: “You go make life happen”.

Gus, you deserve the happiness. And to my loving Keller (weee), You’re still my rock.

Rate: 5/5

—Angel Mars

Leave a comment