NA series · New Adult · Romance · Thriller

Love and Decay by Rachel Higginson

Synopsis

Zombies- as if that wasn’t enough to ruin any girl’s dream of a happily ever after.

A vaccination gone oh so wrong and a huge portion of the world’s population was turned into Zombies. Reagan Willow is forced out of her home when her parents become casualties of the horrid Zombie Apocalypse. With the help of her best friend Haley, they’ve become somewhat of experts on surviving the dangers of a world thrust into chaos and decay.

Reagan and Haley are on a vague mission to find somewhere safe to live out the remainders of their terrifying life when they stumble upon the Parkers, a pack of brothers that seem to have the survival thing down in a much more efficient and successful way than Reagan could ever have imagined. They are also protecting their eight year old sister, Page, and will do anything to keep her safe.

The brothers decide that Reagan and Haley need help with being kept safe as well, and as a group they set off to find the Zombie-free utopia Reagan is dreaming of.

Zombies are a daily problem, constantly threatening the lives of their group, but they’re not the only peril on the journey ahead. Militia groups of power hungry men are also a constant concern. And settlements of paranoid, suspicious people turn out to be just as hazardous.

Danger looms over every inch of the way, but Reagan, Haley and the Parkers are determined to get to their goal and remain together. Soon the Parkers become more to Reagan than just traveling companions and more than friendship starts to develop between her and Hendrix, the second oldest brother.

But at the end of the world, nothing can be as simple as life and death. Now, Reagan is going to have to schedule falling in love between hunting and surviving. Hopefully she can last long enough to find out if true love can still exist when everything else has started to fall apart.


19014025


REVIEW


EPISODE 1

This story killed it! With it’s modern setting and fresh style of writing, the gore evens out and the action isn’t trying hard, if you know what I mean.

I’m so looking forward to episode 2!

EPISODE 2

Okay. So the boys are hot and even that even the youngest will be the subject of my drool.

This episode is a good sequel and gives a nice flow to the story. It also had me giggling shamelessly in public, which I don’t usually do.

However, there are bore-spots in it and the thrill is somehow less focused. I started the story high with action but now it’s turning to a romance novel.

EPISODE 3

Okay. So things are getting sexier and horrible and adventurous and scary and shitty and smelly and really really sexy.

Have I said one of the bloodbaths had me almost pop-eyed?

Though really, I root for Vaughan. He’s my type.

EPISODE 4

This side of Haley’s perspective is amazing. I love it that there’s a break from all the love triangle and tension between Vaughan and Hendrix, though they’re not really fighting or anything.

This is a refreshing episode.

EPISODE 5

Now this is action at it’s finest!

The author made an easy flow of story that made me picture it in my head like I’m watching a movie.

Pros: The addition is pretty exciting! I have this feeling that I’m gonna love-hate Tyler. I already like Miller by the way.

Cons: I think it’s too early for Reagan to choose between the Parkers. It’s like the author’s pacing it up and it doesn’t really match the time needed to fall for someone you only knew for a month.

EPISODE 6

I’ll make some amendments first. If I’ll ever love Tyler, it’s not yet in this episode.

The climax is great to end this season. It has this dreadful finality that had my insides in knots and my heart racing.

The last episode in the first season started slow I practically skimmed through it. It also has a full-on emotional middle part that I just had my eyes scan over it.

However, compared to episode five, this one’s lamer. The intensity of the previous episode is much better than this. The way it ended is very anticlimactic. It had me thinking that ending it high, like maybe a cliffhanger’s gonna leave the readers antsy to get to the next season. This season finale can just be an ending to the whole story.

Averaged Rate: 4.67/5

—Angel Natalie

Leave a Reply

